Dwarf Fortress

where we devise our cunning strats of things and such and such and anon, etc.. and erhm.. stuff... make it go BOOM!!!! meet and greet, organize yer RTS games here.

Dwarf Fortress

Postby St0nkingByte » Tue Mar 17, 2009 8:29 am

I post this in the RTS forum but it clearly defies categorization, unless *your* categories include one for insanely retro ASCII based games, however even an ASCII game category couldn't hold this one since it's default resolution is 1280x800 and everyone knows that ASCII can't possibly be more than 80 characters across, well maybe 120 on a really fancy terminal.

Last night I had a few spare minutes, inspired by a Penny Arcade post from a few days ago, I sat down with Dwarf Fortress. I had looked at it before but found it completely baffling, however with this fabulous complete newbie tutorial which assumes zero knowledge of the game and hands you a download with a somewhat comprehensible tileset pre-loaded I was able to make some not insignificant progress.

What I found was actually a real treat. A throwback to the halcyon gaming days of my youth when the graphics conveyed almost nothing but your imagination filled in the blanks and you could really lose yourself in the game like you get lost in a good book. Oh sure the interface is abysmal, the game mechanics are disturbingly deep and the world is inexplicably complex relative to what your eyes are telling you. However after stepping through the tutorial pages I began to pick up speed and the game quickly became easy to work. Sure I stumbled over a few parts, I built that stairwell that seemed to only go down and not up, appeared to trap my miners for a bit then they escaped somehow but then would never go back down there. However I did get my still going and I even had barrels to store the beer in and I did get that one sub-level working OK.