Random vote is broken

The Life and Times of the Old Fogies NS2 server.

Random vote is broken

Postby BigDXLT » Mon Dec 17, 2012 12:07 am

A random vote won tonight and both teams... had 0 structures, no comm chair, no hive... nothing.

sv_reset didn't work either. sv_rrall then join, still no comm or hive.

I think the random vote should be higher percentage too.
Funner then chuckin' rocks at a sign!
User avatar
BigDXLT
the First Motorized Sasquatch
the First Motorized Sasquatch
 
Posts: 4658
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2003 3:29 am
Location: Fraser Lake, BC

Re: Random vote is broken

Postby BigDXLT » Tue Dec 18, 2012 12:10 am

So, if random vote happens before game start, it seems to work okay. Keep an eye on this I guess.
Funner then chuckin' rocks at a sign!
User avatar
BigDXLT
the First Motorized Sasquatch
the First Motorized Sasquatch
 
Posts: 4658
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2003 3:29 am
Location: Fraser Lake, BC

Re: Random vote is broken

Postby Faust » Wed Dec 19, 2012 12:09 am

Lots of things broke tonight with the patch. Florp is going to patch some files tomorrow.
User avatar
Faust
Fogey
Fogey
 
Posts: 1780
Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2004 11:17 am
Location: BC, Canada

Re: Random vote is broken

Postby Florp Incarnate » Wed Dec 19, 2012 3:04 pm

Sorry, working on this.

Web admin is also broken, so I had NFO reimage the server, and it did not help. Now I need to re-upload the admin mod files.

NFO thread http://www.nfoservers.com/forums/viewto ... 52&p=42734
UWE thread http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/ind ... pic=126190
User avatar
Florp Incarnate
Resident Non-Thieving Pie Overlord
Resident Non-Thieving Pie Overlord
 
Posts: 5704
Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2003 10:06 pm
Location: Commercial Drive, East Van

Re: Random vote is broken

Postby The Nighthawk » Fri Dec 21, 2012 11:12 pm

Alright, the random plugin has to go. Let the admins run the random teams if needed, but the plugin destroyed an epic game tonight. At least a half hour of push-pull tug of war game with marines pressing ahead, and the aliens tearing down bases behind them. And then someone typed 'random'. That was the last vote needed from 30 minutes earlier when 5 other people typed random to complete the vote and reset the game... just brutal!

EDIT - Heh, I can see Big D in the forum now too, and he's going to post something just like this!! hehehe
A person who won't think has no advantage over someone who can't think
User avatar
The Nighthawk
Dagger, Shield, CLAW!!!
Dagger, Shield, CLAW!!!
 
Posts: 1632
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2003 12:33 am
Location: Richmond, British Columbia

Re: Random vote is broken

Postby BigDXLT » Fri Dec 21, 2012 11:15 pm

A) Still broken as described.
B) No "expiry" timer, means it's extra broken.

Just had a really good game going (tech point swappin'!) where a bunch of us who did the "random" vote at the beginning of the map, an hour later lost our game to the last person to finally type random. It was a good 30-40 minutes since the game started too. Plus, when it did it, all hives and marine tech disappeared again.

This plugin should just be removed until the developer fixes it. I think at least 17 other people will agree. :(

Edit: Nighthawk, I sure did! LOL
Funner then chuckin' rocks at a sign!
User avatar
BigDXLT
the First Motorized Sasquatch
the First Motorized Sasquatch
 
Posts: 4658
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2003 3:29 am
Location: Fraser Lake, BC

Re: Random vote is broken

Postby Florp Incarnate » Sat Dec 22, 2012 12:31 am

I removed random from the config. Server [img]might[/img] have to be rebooted for that to take affect, not sure, and game is full so I don't want to interrupt right now.
User avatar
Florp Incarnate
Resident Non-Thieving Pie Overlord
Resident Non-Thieving Pie Overlord
 
Posts: 5704
Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2003 10:06 pm
Location: Commercial Drive, East Van

Re: Random vote is broken

Postby BigDXLT » Sat Dec 22, 2012 12:49 am

Thanks! :(
Funner then chuckin' rocks at a sign!
User avatar
BigDXLT
the First Motorized Sasquatch
the First Motorized Sasquatch
 
Posts: 4658
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2003 3:29 am
Location: Fraser Lake, BC

Re: Random vote is broken

Postby Mohawk » Sat Dec 22, 2012 2:15 pm

random is nice, but is there a way it can only be triggered within 2 minutes of the start of the game?
Mohawk
Feeling the Years Pile Up
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2012 3:44 pm

Re: Random vote is broken

Postby Faust » Sat Dec 22, 2012 3:24 pm

Well it's removed for now. An admin should still be able to force it if need be. Hopefully in the future that limit will be coded into the random plugin, or at least give server admin's the ability to set that limit.
User avatar
Faust
Fogey
Fogey
 
Posts: 1780
Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2004 11:17 am
Location: BC, Canada

Re: Random vote is broken

Postby Mohawk » Fri Dec 28, 2012 3:12 pm

Faust, can it be triggered by an admin like you thought? If so can you let the other fogies know it's possible? We had a game the other day where one side was always weighted.. was awful for several games in a row..
Mohawk
Feeling the Years Pile Up
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2012 3:44 pm

Re: Random vote is broken

Postby Florp Incarnate » Fri Dec 28, 2012 3:57 pm

Admin command is sv_randomall
User avatar
Florp Incarnate
Resident Non-Thieving Pie Overlord
Resident Non-Thieving Pie Overlord
 
Posts: 5704
Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2003 10:06 pm
Location: Commercial Drive, East Van

Re: Random vote is broken

Postby Faust » Sat Dec 29, 2012 12:23 am

Yes Mohawk, an admin can force everyone to random. I had to do it the other day when outcomes were being quickly decided for consecutive games.
User avatar
Faust
Fogey
Fogey
 
Posts: 1780
Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2004 11:17 am
Location: BC, Canada

Re: Random vote is broken

Postby Canuck148 » Sat Dec 29, 2012 1:11 am

Florp Incarnate wrote:Admin command is sv_randomall


I used that after I joined a team and it just added the ready room people and not the ones already in-game, which didn't solve the stacking issue.
Canuck148
Uber Fogey
Uber Fogey
 
Posts: 244
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2003 12:18 pm
Location: Nanaimo BC

Re: Random vote is broken

Postby Florp Incarnate » Sat Dec 29, 2012 11:25 am

Canuck148 wrote:
Florp Incarnate wrote:Admin command is sv_randomall


I used that after I joined a team and it just added the ready room people and not the ones already in-game, which didn't solve the stacking issue.


Yes, it only affects the ready room. You have to run it before everyone joins a team. That hasn't been a problem for me in the past.

There is a way around that however. From the DAK readme:

sv_rrall: Forces all players to go to the Ready Room

So first do sv_rrall, and then sv_randomall.
User avatar
Florp Incarnate
Resident Non-Thieving Pie Overlord
Resident Non-Thieving Pie Overlord
 
Posts: 5704
Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2003 10:06 pm
Location: Commercial Drive, East Van

Next

Return to Geriatric Ward NS2 Server

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron